Guide to Halal Foods
Islam is a mosaic, not a monolith– Muslim people come from all over the world with varied food cultures and dietary preferences. 83% of American Muslims follow a Halal diet.
One of our values at FamilyWorks is to design programs with input and leadership from the communities we serve. One way to integrate this feedback is to have more purchasing of Halal foods, as well as more education for staff and volunteers on Halal foods. Increasing our understanding of culturally appropriate foods helps us meet the needs of the communities we work with. We try to take into consideration each person’s perspective of their own cultural and religious practice.
Halal dietary laws are derived from the Quran, the Hadith (teachings of the Prophet Muhammad), and centuries of interpretation by Islamic scholars. These laws define what is permissible (Halal) and what is forbidden (Haram). While some foods, such as pork, are universally recognized as Haram, other ingredients, such as certain enzymes or flavorings, require more careful consideration.
It is important to remember that individual preferences may vary. This guide offers general tips and guidelines to help you navigate Halal dietary requirements, but always consider each person’s perspective of their own cultural and religious practice. When in doubt, ask participants or group leaders about any specific dietary needs they may have.
Useful definitions:
Halal – lawful or permitted. Foods and beverages that are Halal comply with Islamic dietary laws.
Haram – not permitted
Zabihah – an animal product that is slaughtered according to Islamic dietary laws
The distinction between Halal and Haram is not always straightforward, as it involves various factors including the source of the food, how it is prepared, and the presence of certain ingredients.
FAQ:
Is halal the same as kosher?
No. Kosher and halal diets both have set strict guidelines regarding which foods are allowed and restricted based on religious teachings, but many halal foods are not kosher, and vice versa.
Do all Muslims eat halal?
No. Islam is not a monolith. 83% of Muslims in the United States follow a halal diet.
If someone keeps a halal diet, can they only eat food with the halal label?
No– many foods are halal without being labeled as such.
Best practices for food bank staff and volunteers:
- Food traditions and dietary habits are affected by religion and culture. Be aware that food bank participants might have varied dietary needs.
- Display the halal certification symbol and food ingredient labels
- Provide halal meat, fish, and vegetarian proteins.
- Read food labels carefully and regularly, as ingredients can change without notice.
Halal
Haram
Grains
Rice, pasta, and any grain product (bread, breakfast cereal, or baked goods) prepared without Haram ingredients
Any grain products prepared with Haram ingredients, such as alcohol, animal fat or shortening, lard or pure and artificial vanilla extract
Produce
All fruit and vegetables (fresh, frozen, canned, and dried) without Haram ingredients
Any fruit or vegetable prepared with alcohol, animal fat or shortening, bacon, gelatin, lard, or margarines containing some margarines with mono- or di-glycerides from an animal source
Dairy
Milk, yogurt, cheese, ice cream, and other dairy made with bacterial culture or microbial enzymes, e.g.microbial rennet
Milk, yogurt, cheese, ice cream, and other dairy made with vegetable rennet, gelatin, lipase, pepsin, pure or artificial vanilla extract, or whey
Protein
Meat and poultry slaughtered according to Zabihah (Islamic dietary law), seafood, nuts, seeds, tofu, dried beans, peas and lentils, eggs, peanut butter, and Halal deli meats
Pork and pork products (e.g. bacon, deli meat, ham, sausage), meat and poultry not slaughtered according to Zabihah (Islamic dietary law), canned beans, peas or lentils containing pork, and any protein prepared with alcohol, pork products or animal fat or shortening
Other
Beverages: carbonated drinks, fruit juice, tea and coffee
Fats and oils: butter, margarine, mayonnaise, vegetable oils and some salad dressings
Miscellaneous: chutneys, coconut milk, jam, pickles, spices, desserts with agar or carrageenan base
Sweeteners: honey, sugar, syrup, chocolate liquor (roasted ground cocoa bean syrup)
Beverages: beer, wine, alcohol, liqueur
Fats and oils: animal shortening, lard Miscellaneous:chocolates/candies made with alcohol or pure or artificial vanilla extract, gelatin
Sweeteners: chocolate liqueur (made from alcohol)
Halal
Rice, pasta, and any grain product (bread, breakfast cereal, or baked goods) prepared without Haram ingredients
All fruit and vegetables (fresh, frozen, canned, and dried) without Haram ingredients
Milk, yogurt, cheese, ice cream, and other dairy made with bacterial culture or microbial enzymes, e.g.microbial rennet
Meat and poultry slaughtered according to Zabihah (Islamic dietary law), seafood, nuts, seeds, tofu, dried beans, peas and lentils, eggs, peanut butter, and Halal deli meats
Beverages: carbonated drinks, fruit juice, tea and coffee
Fats and oils: butter, margarine, mayonnaise, vegetable oils and some salad dressings
Miscellaneous: chutneys, coconut milk, jam, pickles, spices, desserts with agar or carrageenan base
Sweeteners: honey, sugar, syrup, chocolate liquor (roasted ground cocoa bean syrup)
Haram
Any grain products prepared with Haram ingredients, such as alcohol, animal fat or shortening, lard or pure and artificial vanilla extract
Any fruit or vegetable prepared with alcohol, animal fat or shortening, bacon, gelatin, lard, or margarines containing some margarines with mono- or di-glycerides from an animal source
Milk, yogurt, cheese, ice cream, and other dairy made with vegetable rennet, gelatin, lipase, pepsin, pure or artificial vanilla extract, or whey
Pork and pork products (e.g. bacon, deli meat, ham, sausage), meat and poultry not slaughtered according to Zabihah (Islamic dietary law), canned beans, peas or lentils containing pork, and any protein prepared with alcohol, pork products or animal fat or shortening
Beverages: beer, wine, alcohol, liqueur
Fats and oils: animal shortening, lard
Miscellaneous: chocolates/candies made with alcohol or pure or artificial vanilla extract, gelatin
Sweeteners: chocolate liqueur (made from alcohol)
Ingredients to Avoid
No chart can list every possible food which may contain haram ingredients. Please check labels carefully and regularly.
Ingredients to avoid
Sources
May be found in:
Alcohol
Wine, beer, or spirits
Alcoholic drinks, desserts, confections, packaged foods, combination foods
Animal shortening
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Combination foods, baked products, desserts
Broth
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Soups, sauces, other combination foods
Gelatin
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Some desserts, candy, baked goods, ice cream, molded puddings, yogurt
Ham, bacon
Pork
Canned beans, deli meats, frozen dinners, processed foods, soups, Caesar salad, salad dressings
Lard
Pork
Bread, crackers, pies, baked products
L-cysteine
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Dough, flour
Lipase
Pork
Cheese, processed cheese, products containing cheese or yogurt
Mono- and di-glycerides
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Bread, baked products, processed foods, animal shortening and some margarines
Pepsin
Pork
Cheese, yogurt
Rennet
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Cheese, yogurt
Sodium stearoyl-lactylate
Pork, non-Zabilah beef
Bread
Vanilla extract
Pure or artificial vanilla extract
Baked products, confections, desserts, candies
Whey
Milk
Cheese, crackers, combination foods
Alcohol
Sources: Wine, beer, or spirits
May be found in: Alcoholic drinks, desserts, confections, packaged foods, combination foods
Animal shortening
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Combination foods, baked products, desserts
Broth
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Soups, sauces, other combination foods
Gelatin
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Some desserts, candy, baked goods, ice cream, molded puddings, yogurt
Ham, bacon
Sources: Pork
May be found in: Canned beans, deli meats, frozen dinners, processed foods, soups, Caesar salad, salad dressings
Lard
Sources: Pork
May be found in: Bread, crackers, pies, baked products
L-cysteine
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Dough, flour
Lipase
Sources: Pork
May be found in: Cheese, processed cheese, products containing cheese or yogurt
Mono- and di-glycerides
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Bread, baked products, processed foods, animal shortening and some margarines
Pepsin
Sources: Pork
May be found in: Cheese, yogurt
Rennet
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Cheese, yogurt
Sodium stearoyl-lactylate
Sources: Pork, non-Zabilah beef
May be found in: Bread
Vanilla extract
Sources: Pure or artificial vanilla extract
May be found in: Baked products, confections, desserts, candies
Whey
Sources: Milk
May be found in: Cheese, crackers, combination foods
Sources:
- https://ispu.org/halal-preferences/ (statistics on Halal)
- https://ifanca.org/faqs/
- https://www.halalrc.org/whatishalal.php
- https://www.toronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2023/08/857f-HalalFactSheet20235.pdf (chart)
- Nun, Anisa; personal interview with the author, Summer 2024.